
  

 

BEFORE THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL APPEALS BOARD  
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA  

AB-7606a  
File: 48-275530  Reg: 99047236 

RENEE VICARY dba Angels Sports Bar  
1650 East Sixth Street, Corona, CA 91719,  

Appellant/Licensee  

v.  

DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL,   
Respondent  

Administrative Law Judge at the Dept. Hearing: None  

Appeals Board Hearing: August 14, 2003  

Los Angeles, CA  

ISSUED NOVEMBER 12, 2003 

Renee Vicary, doing business as Angels Sports Bar (appellant), appeals from a 

decision of the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control1 which suspended her license 

for 30 days for having permitted violations of Department Rule 143.3(1)(b) and 143.3(2) 

(Title 4, Cal. Code Regs., §143.3, subds. (1)(b) and (2)) (hereafter “Rule 143.3") by 

entertainers in her employ. 

Appearances on appeal include appellant Renee Vicary, appearing through her 

counsel, Roger Jon Diamond, and the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

appearing through its counsel, John W. Lewis. 

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY 

This matter is now before the Appeals Board for its consideration of the 30-day 

suspension ordered by the Department following appellant’s unsuccessful journey 

through the Fourth District Court of Appeal, the California Supreme Court and the 

1 The decision of the Department, dated March 23, 2000, is set forth in the 
appendix. 
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United States Supreme Court. 

This matter was first heard by the Appeals Board on April 5, 2001.  In a decision 

issued August 16, 2001, the Board reversed the decision of the Department, issued 

March 23, 2000, which had held that conduct of various topless dancers at appellant’s 

establishment had violated Department Rule 143.3.  The Board concluded that the 

Department Rule, as applied, infringed upon the dancers’ First Amendment rights of 

expression. 

The Fourth District Court of Appeal issued a writ of review, and after oral 

argument, ordered the Board’s decision annulled, concluding that the Department was 

entitled to pursue the conduct in question (the touching of her own breasts by each of 

seven dancers in the course of her performance, and the exposure of her breasts by a 

dancer who was not on an elevated stage farther than six feet from a patron) without 

violating their First Amendment rights. The court remanded the matter to the Appeals 

Board for reconsideration of the penalty imposed by the Department, explaining: 

It remains to consider whether Vicary should be given the opportunity to request 
the Board to reconsider the penalty imposed, an issue which became moot when 
the Board overturned the decision on the Rule 143.3 violations.  We believe that 
Vicary is entitled to a determination on this point. 

Appellant’s petition for review to the California Supreme Court was denied, as 

was its petition for certiorari to the United States Supreme Court.  Thereafter, the case 

was returned to the Appeals Board by the Court of Appeal, and by the Board to the 

Department, for reconsideration of the penalty. 

On April 2, 2003, the Department issued the following order, entitled “Notice:” 

On March 24, 2003, the United States Supreme Court denied licensee’s Petition 
for Certiorari.  The decision of the Court of appeal annulling the Decision of the 
ABC Appeals Board is now final.  In its opinion dated June 26, 2002, the Court of 
appeal remanded the matter to the Appeals Board for reconsideration of the 
penalty, which had previously been rendered moot when the Appeals Board 
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reversed the Department’s Decision. On January 24, 2003, the Appeals Board 
reversed its decision dated August 26, 2001 and ordered that the matter be 
remanded to the Department for further proceedings in accordance with the 
Court of Appeal’s Decision of June 26, 2002. 

WHEREFORE, the Department’s decision dated March 23, 2001 is final, 
effective immediately.  Licensee’s license is suspended for 30 days. 

Appellant has again appealed, and contends that the penalty was imposed 

pursuant to guidelines which were not promulgated in compliance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act (APA).  Appellant also contends that the Department 

violated the instruction of the District Court of Appeal by not affording appellant a 

hearing on the penalty.  

DISCUSSION 

Appellant has premised her appeal on the contention that there was no hearing 

in which she could demonstrate the alleged hardship the suspension would inflict on 

her business, and that the penalty was imposed pursuant to guidelines which should 

have been, but were not, promulgated in compliance with the Administrative Procedure 

Act, thus, in violation of Government Code section 11425.50, subdivision (e).2 

In Tidewater Marine Western, Inc. v. Bradshaw (1996) 14 Cal.4th 557, 571 [59 

Cal.Rptr.2d 186], the California Supreme Court referred to “two principal identifying 

2 Section 11425.50, subdivision (e) provides: “A penalty may not be based on a 
guideline, criterion, bulletin, manual, instruction, order, standard of general application, 
or other rule subject to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) unless it has 
been adopted as a regulation pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 
11340).” 

Government Code section 11342.600 defines “regulation” to mean “every rule, 
regulation, order, or standard of general application or the amendment, supplement, or 
revision of any rule, regulation, order or standard adopted by any state agency to 
implement, interpret, or make specific the law enforced or administered by it, or to 
govern its procedure.” 
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characteristics” of a regulation subject to the APA: 

First, the agency must intend its rule to apply generally, rather than in a specific 
case. The rule need not, however, apply universally; a rule applies generally so 
long as it declares how a certain class of cases will be decided.  (Roth v. 
Department of Veterans Affairs (1980) 110 Cal.App.3d 622, 630 [167 Cal.Rptr. 
552].) Second, the rule must “implement, interpret, or make specific the law 
enforced or administered by [the agency], or ... govern [the agency’s] procedure. 
(Gov. Code, §11342, subd. (g).) 

At issue is a section of the Department’s “Instructions, Interpretations and 

Procedures“ manual entitled “Penalties - General Guidelines,” which states: 

The penalties indicated in this section of the Guide Book are intended as general 
guides and are those penalties which the Department usually imposes for the 
offenses indicated. Higher or lower penalties may be warranted depending on 
the aggravating or mitigating factors present in the particular case. 

It is the District Administrator or District Supervisor’s responsibility to objectively 
assess each alleged violation on its own factual merits, considering the 
Department’s standard penalty and the presence of any factors of aggravation or 
mitigation.  Penalty recommendations in different cases should be consistent 
when the same factors are present.  Deviation from the standard penalties 
requires the presence of either aggravation or mitigation and must be so 
indicated on the ABC-309.  It is also imperative that the concept of progressive 
discipline be kept in mind when recommending penalties.  Failure to do so may 
result in reduced penalties at hearings. 

It is the Assistant Director’s (field) and Deputy Division Chief’s responsibility to 
ensure that penalties recommended by District are in line with the standard 
penalties and that deviations from the standard are fully justified and explained 
on the ABC-309. In addition, Division review should also ensure that the 
Districts are consistent in their approach to penalties. 

(Instructions, Interpretations, and Procedures, December 4, 1996, page L225.)3 

This portion of the manual discusses a number of considerations which are to be 

taken into account in developing a penalty recommendation: factors of aggravation and 

mitigation; the staying of penalties; operative and effective dates of penalties; fines vs. 

suspensions; and imposition of conditions. The manual then sets forth a penalty 

3 A copy of these guidelines is annexed hereto. 
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schedule which lists types of offenses and a penalty associated with each.  The 

Department appears to have utilized these guidelines in one form or another for many 

years, (See Harris v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Appeals Board (1965) 62 Cal.2d 589, 

595 [43 Cal.Rptr. 633]). Department counsel often refer to the Department’s “standard 

penalty” when making their penalty recommendations to the administrative law judge 

presiding at the hearing..  

Despite their longevity, this is the first case in which the question whether the 

Department’s penalty guidelines fall within the ambit of Government Code sections 

11340.5, subdivision (a), and 11425.50, subdivision (e), has been squarely presented to 

this Board. Their description and content appear clearly to fall within the literal 

language of the pertinent Government Code provisions, and we have been given no 

persuasive reason why they should be excluded therefrom. 

The Department has argued that the Board should not consider this issue 

because the appellant did not meaningly raise and argue the issue at the Department 

level. In the ordinary case, this argument would be persuasive, since fairness requires 

that the Department be entitled to consider the issue before an appeal from its ruling. 

But this case is not the ordinary case. 

In this case, the court of appeal expressly held that appellant was entitled to 

have the issue of penalty reconsidered.  It was for that reason that the case was 

remanded to the Board, and from the Board to the Department. 

Following the remand, the Department, without notice to appellant, entered an 

order reimposing the same 30-day penalty it had originally ordered.  Appellant was 

effectively precluded from raising the issue at the Department level at a time when shet 

could have done so. 
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The Department argues that its power to deny, suspend, or revoke an alcoholic 

beverage license derives directly from article XX, section 22, of the California 

Constitution, and any requirement that its penalty guidelines be formally adopted as a 

regulation interferes with its ability to exercise that discretion. We disagree. 

We do not see how the exposure of those guidelines to public scrutiny and 

comment - which is the purpose behind the Government Code provisions requiring their 

promulgation as regulations - will frustrate that objective.  On the contrary, the result of 

such public scrutiny and comment will be that all licensees, and not those few fortunate 

enough to be represented by the most experienced counsel, will know what they may 

face in the penalty phase of a proceeding.  The Department’s discretion remains limited 

only by the traditional principles regulating its exercise.  (See Martin v. Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Appeals Board (1959) 52 Cal.2d 287, 293 [341P.2d 296]: “viewing 

the propriety of the penalty as a matter vested in the discretion of the department under 

our constitutional provision (art. XX, §22), and considering the rule that its determination 

of the penalty will not be disturbed unless there is a clear abuse of discretion ... .”) 

We find the Law Revision Commission’s comments made at the time subdivision 

(e) was enacted instructive on the ultimate disposition of this appeal: 

If a penalty is based on an “underground rule” - one not adopted as a regulation 
as required by the rulemaking provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act - a 
reviewing court should exercise discretion in deciding the appropriate penalty. 
Generally the court should remand to the agency to set a new penalty without 
reliance on the underground rule but without setting aside the balance of the 
decision. 

(Cal. Law Revision Com. com., Deering’s Ann. Gov. Code (2003 ed.) foll. §11425.50. 

We are aware that the result we reach in this case will cause the Department 

and this Board some inconvenience and delay in the appellate process.  The ready 
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solution, of course, is for the Department to implement the necessary steps to legitimize 

its penalty guidelines, either through the normal procedures for the adoption of a 

regulation, or through use of the emergency adoption procedures spelled out in the 

APA. Prompt action in this direction will benefit everyone concerned.  See Tidewater 

Marine Western Inc., supra, 14 Cal.4th at 568-569. 

ORDER 

The decision of the Department is reversed as to penalty, and the matter is 

remanded to the Department for reconsideration of the penalty without reference to the 

penalty guidelines set forth in the Department’s “Instructions, Interpretations and 

Procedures“ manual.4 

TED HUNT, CHAIRMAN 
KAREN GETMAN, MEMBER 
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
APPEALS BOARD 

4 This final decision is filed in accordance with Business and Professions Code 
§23088 and shall become effective 30 days following the date of the filing of this final 
decision as provided by §23090.7 of said code. 

Any party may, before this final decision becomes effective, apply to the 
appropriate district court of appeal, or the California Supreme Court, for a writ of review 
of this final decision in accordance with Business and Professions Code §23090 et seq. 
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